The Defeat

Written in Spring of 2013.

 

Have at thee, Temptation! Be on thy guard!

Ever watches my God over His daughter’s soul,

To drive thee away, and my hand to hold.

Have at thee, my torment! I am already scarred:

But hear this, and know that I do not fear

For so does the Blood wash away my tears!

 

What can you do, but make me run?

What pow’r do thy chains have, that I would quiver?

Nay, for I only run into the arms of my Deliverer!

Come, now; I say, come! This battle has only just begun.

The King watches o’er me; you are one mere contender;

Should my strength be exhausted, the Lord is my Defender.

Leave a Reply

